The True North; Strong & Free

Posted on Updated on

Today is a day to remember. To pause. To reflect. To be thankful. Today we celebrate Remembrance Day in Canada. For every Canadian, this is a day where we celebrate our heritage. We give thanks and honor those men and woman who gave their lives for our freedom. These war veterans were those who fought in the first and second world wars. Many of them sacrificed their lives, futures and families for the Canada we have now.

Leading up to today, I  saw countless people wearing a bright red poppy on their jacket to prepare for Remembrance Day. This symbol is a powerful representation of the unity we have as a Canadian people. I know that I wear my poppy with pride. At 11:00 a.m, I stopped along with millions of Canadians for two minutes of silence. In this moment, I found myself incredibly thankful for what I have been given. The gift it is to live in a country that is free. To live without fear of persecution for religion. To know I have health care coverage. To have a democratic government. To live in a province with clean and fresh air. To have rights as a woman, a citizen and a voter. To live in a country with beautiful landscapes. To be Canadian.

Although we reserve this celebration for November 11th, I want to continue to be thankful for my homeland throughout the rest of the year. Not only do we have maple syrup, moose and Tim Horton’s, we truly have a strong nation. We are founded upon the sacrifices and dedication of men and women who gave their lives for Canada. What a blessing it is to be Canadian.

Thought Drop

