Tiles, Trials & Adventure

Posted on Updated on

If I had to describe my mid 20’s in 1 adjective I would have to go with:

  1. Unpredictable

In the past few years, I have spent a significant amount of time contemplating life’s big and mysterious questions. Things like careers, dating, traveling, growing, maturing, restarting, relocating and all the rest… there are a lot of choices to be made and things to consider.

Now, I have the tendency to be what we call an over thinker.  To all those who share this somewhat frustrating characteristic, you probably know what I’m talking about. Perhaps you have also found yourself mapping out your life according to multiple imagined realities. You might even start to stress about these fantastical plans as you create potential problems within them. Take for example that guy you might meet when you move to Europe next year. He might not fit in with your family because he doesn’t speak English very well. This would make it really difficult to get married. Then, how would you decide what language to teach to your kids? Would you choose his or yours? How would you decide what school to put them in…. And all of a sudden, you find yourself caught up in something like that #yikes

I would say that the scenario above really exemplifies this sense of unpredictability. What I’m learning about my 20’s is that things are very dynamic and could change in the blink of an eye. Most people have likely changed friends, cities, studies, jobs and hobbies in some way. Perhaps you feel like a completely different person based on where you find yourself today. Depending on relationships, universities, travels, and experiences, you are shaped by these things. It’s really an exciting time, but also overwhelming because you never fully know what to expect. Where you envisioned yourself at 24 might be a completely different place then where you actually find yourself on your 24th birthday. Now, let me just say, this is the beauty of life! It should be something that we celebrate, embrace and make the most of. Life is precious, and we are always growing.

imageI can compare this time in my life to a mosaic art piece. There are so many contributing moments, people, difficulties, joys, adventures and learning curves which come together and form who I am; like these tiles that slowly form an image. Sometimes, things fall into place easily. Other times, they require more work to find where they belong. In the process, the image is incomplete and missing pieces. There are moments where I feel lost and struggle to see the whole image as it should be. However time, work, energy and love begin to illuminate this work of art. My faith, my family and my friends are the glue and strength which hold things together. The piece is constantly under construction. It’s in the process that the mosaic is fully realized. So too with me. My 20’s are not just about the final product, but the process of creation and development. I am called to live this time in my life with hope, joy, peace and love! One day, I will see how that final mosaic turns out. For now, I will continue to piece things together day by day, and enjoy the journey!

Thought Drop

